The Epic Tasting

Words can’t describe how amazing the tasting I attended on Saturday was (where I tasted the AleSmith Decadence 2005), so I’ll just show you some pictures I remembered to take with my phone in between filling my glass and reaching for the next bottle.  The quality in the images, though not too great to begin with, definitely start diminishing about halfway through…but so did my attention to my phone.  I was way more interested in getting to try all of the beer that was made available thanks to Dak and his friends.  Let’s consider this a happy humpday post.

Dirac, Hunahpu’s Imperial Stout, Bohr Imperial Sweet Stout (Mikkeller collab) by Cigar City Brewing, Plead the 5th Imperial Stout by Dark Horse Brewing Co., 2 Turtle Doves by The Bruery (not pictured: mini-keg of White Oak Aged Dirac by Cigar City Brewing)

Monk’s Revenge Ale by Stewarts Brewing Company

4 Roses Bourbon Barrel Aged Zhukov 2010 by Cigar City Brewing

Abacus by Firestone Walker Brewing Company

Unplugged Enigma by New Glarus Brewing Company

Monomoy Kriek by Cisco Brewers Inc.

Angel’s Share Bourbon Barrel Aged Ale by The Lost Abbey

Doubly Down ‘N Even Dirtier by Tyranena Brewing

Melange No. 1 by The Bruery

The Workman’s Friend by The Bruery

Dark Apparition by Jackie O’s Pub and Brewery

22nd Anniversary Vanilla Imperial Stout by Karl Strauss Brewing Company

North Coast Old Stock Ale 2009 by North Coast Brewing Company
Bourbon Barrel Matriarch by Jackie O’s Pub and Brewery, Ovila Abbey Dubbel by Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Cherry Strong Ale homebrew, Eclipse Stout by FiftyFifty Brewing Co.

Zeke’s Belly Up Imperial Stout by Golden City Brewery

Bottleworks XII by The Bruery

Doggie Claws 2010 by Hair of the Dog Brewing

Chocolate Rain by The Bruery

Malthus Birolla by Il Birrificio di Como
11 thoughts on “The Epic Tasting

  1. All I can say is WOW! Most impressive selection of beer! So how do I get an invite to your next Beer-Extravaganza? 🙂

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • I know, right? If you ever find yourself in the Phoenix area, let me know! I’m sure some of the “hobbyists” I’ve befriended would love to host a small get-together.

      • Thanks Lys! I may have to find a conference in Phoenix to attend. The wife and I were in Scottsdale for our 10th Anniversary. Arizona as a whole is lovely. Hope to get back there again sometime soon.

  2. Okay! That’s quite the lineup! It would be hard to go home and drink a pale ale after making your way through such an amazing tasting. Good reason to start a beer cellar and put away some treasures like these!

    • I wish I had the determination and patience that some people do to hold onto beer like this. Any time I get something new, my first instinct is to open it and try it out, haha. Someday…

  3. That is one exceptional stable of brews for a beer tasting! I think I got more and more jealous as I scrolled through each photo. Iv’e been lucky enough to have only had a couple of those masterpieces and I fear your review and photos will be as close I’ll get to most of the rest of them. Thanks for sharing.

    Cheers!
    Friends Don’t Let Friends Drink Bud™

    • I never thought I’d get opportunities like this, but I am so glad I found people to prove me otherwise. Thanks for stopping by!

    • I will definitely let you know the next time I hear about an epic tasting around here! If you follow me on Twitter, I usually will post something about it as soon as I know what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

