Coors Original

I sort of hate myself for doing this. I’m a little embarrassed. A little foolish. But hey, once I get it out of the way, I don’t have to go back, right? This can happen, and in a few days, let’s forget about it ever happening. Let’s peel the Band-Aid off quickly together.

Tonight, I had the opportunity to try Coors Original. I’ve had more opportunities in the past, but that’s when I didn’t know what good beer was. I understood the appeal of microbrews and the appeal of larger beer companies. Some people will always buy domestic beer, it’s simply the way the world works. I’ll never understand why Los Angeles doesn’t drop into the ocean, or why people purchase Budweiser, Miller, or Coors products, yet there it is.

If you haven’t caught the general feel of what’s going on, Coors Original is not that good, but when it is produced on such a large scale, you can’t expect it to be. Think about restaurants. When you make a buffet for five hundred people, the quality of food is vastly inferior to food made for five. The same goes for beer. Coors is one of the biggest breweries in the world. You don’t do that handcrafting every batch.

Let’s take a moment and talk about the beer itself. The color is clear, crisp, and golden. A little too clear and crisp for me to take the beer too seriously. The smell isn’t anywhere near special either, smelling watery and sad. The flavor tries to be complex, hinting at honey and nuts, but ends up being more bland than anything. When the bartender asked if I wanted Coors, he added “Light or Heavy?” I let a glimmer of hope arise in my soul when I responded “Heavy!” I was wrong. It’s very light. Too light. Lack of real flavor light. It tastes like when you put too little Kool-Aid in water. It tastes find, but then suddenly is very, very wrong.

It’s aged yeast sugar water. But this was a little expected.

But this brings up my question: why buy this beer? Riddle me this, Batman.

I have no idea. It’s cheaper than real beer, that’s for sure, but can you really put a price on happiness? Their slogan is misleading as well, claiming to be cold brewed and cold filtered. The funny thing is, lagers are brewed around 33 to 36 degrees, so pretty cold brewed if you ask me. And the easiest, most cost efficient way to filter beer is to lower the temperature, causing the yeast to fall to the bottom of the tank, making it easier to filter. So being cold brewed and filtered is nothing special.

A lot like the beer.

Again, this was expected.

But that doesn’t make it any less disappointing.

Leave a Reply

