Odell 5 Barrel Pale Ale

I would like to apologize for the lack of beer yesterday. I promise to make it up to you. I’m still getting used to my work schedule, which is often times ridiculous, like working until nine at night, only having to be back at work at six the next morning. That leaves nine hours, which includes bathing, sleeping, checking out what has happened with the rest of the world, and getting ready to do it all over again. Finding time to drive ten miles into town for a beer proves challenging, but I will strive to deliver a beer review every night for the foreseeable future.

But on to more important things, like tonight’s beer. 

Lys has already tried an Odell brew, so I thought I would take a stab at the brewery with the 5 Barrel Pale Ale. I’ve discovered I’m much more comfortable with the complexities of lagers, since I understand them. I’ve had a preconceived notion that ales are generally the same, but I couldn’t be more wrong. Although ales take less time to produce than lagers, they have plenty of diversity of flavors. Especially with “pale” in front of the name, you’d think that the flavor would be pale, for example, I think of pale ales like Rolling Rock (of course, India Pale Ales are punches in the mouth). Pale ales use pale malt and they seem to bring out the fullness and flavor of hops. Plus, the color of the beer is far from pale, being a deep amber color that looks incredibly appetizing.

The 5 Barrel is hoppy and bitter, which, after a long day, might be just what you need. Bitter isn’t bad, especially with a beer like this. I personally don’t taste bitter that well and don’t mind it. It’s sort of like coffee: an acquired taste. However, beyond the bitterness there lies a smooth vanilla flavor that lingers long after the bitterness fades away that is prominent once the beer reaches the bottom half of the glass.

The Pale Ale is an enjoyable experience that dances with your senses throughout the entire glass. If you can handle a little bitterness, the beer is well worth it.

You can find Odell beer more in the central part of the United States, but for the Wisconsin readers, you’ll have to travel to Minnesota to pick some up.

Sorry.

 

One thought on “Odell 5 Barrel Pale Ale

  1. Pingback: Odell Brewing Co « Drink Better Beer

Leave a Reply

