Odell Brewing Co. St. Lupulin Extra Pale Ale

I didn’t find time to buy more local beer over my long, relaxing weekend, so tonight I have another Colorado brew, this time in honor of Ty actually reaching his new home in the mountains and not being able to post himself due to his just getting into town – though he won’t be getting off as easy tomorrow.  When I went to the beer tasting event at Whole Foods on Friday, I happened to win a soft green t-shirt from Odell Brewing Co. without realizing that the last beer I had in my fridge was from their brewery.  After trying this very same beer on tap and completely disliking it, most likely because it was the 7th drink I tried that night (I was getting quite fuzzy by that point), I wrote their seasonal St. Lupulin Extra Pale Ale off without a second thought.  Having no choice but to try it again from the bottle tonight, I found that it was rather quite enjoyable and tasted a lot different than it did on tap.  One of my favorite things about my beer tasting adventures thus far is that I find myself appreciating the different beers regardless of whether or not they are available on tap or in a bottle.  I haven’t tried any out of a can yet, but perhaps that will come later on down the line…though I’m very partial to the bottle.

The color is a hazy golden honey with lots of carbonation initially that fades rather quickly into a light gauzy head.  When I first poured it into the glass, the foam did hold its own right away, but also faded just as quickly as the bubbles in the liquid.  The lacing did stick to the glass very well as I was drinking it.

The smell is surprisingly floral, which I haven’t yet really had the pleasure of coming across in any of the other beers I’ve tried.  It just doesn’t smell quite like anything else once you get over the obvious citrus and bitter hop scents, especially when you start picking out something skunky – like cannabis…  Somewhere in the way back, there is also a tiny hint of something spicy, perhaps pepper, that almost doesn’t want to be found.  Maybe it’s just my nose making things up.  Also of note:  very little malt in the bottled version, which by this point in my still limited experience makes me wonder why this isn’t labeled as an IPA (India Pale Ale – more hoppy) rather than an APA (American Pale Ale – more malty)*.  No matter, I still rather enjoyed the bottled version over the tap, regardless of the overbearing hops which carried right into the flavor.

First taste:  hops

Second taste:  hops

Third taste:  hops, citrus (grapefruit? sour orange?), honey, hops

Fourth and beyond:  grapefruit, pine, honey, hops, grass, and barley

At the end of each smooth sip, it left my mouth thick and dry with an extremely bitter aftertaste that was not all that delightful.  Though the beer had a nice, medium consistency with just enough carbonation to keep it flowing easy, once that mouthful was swallowed, I had to be ready with a wave of water.  I’m not quite sure what a floral taste is, but this beer also has that, which I’m sure contributes to the heavy floral scent I mentioned earlier.  Maybe if you walk into a garden store where they spray all those fake gift plants with that awful perfume and maybe taste the air around that…but that sounds disgusting really…just stick with trying this beer then, haha.  I promise, it’s not as bad as I’m making it sound, and Odell is a really reputable brewery.  I’m trying to get Ty to review a beer or two from there now that he’s a Colorado resident for the foreseeable future, so we’ll see what he has to say.

In the end, due to this being a seasonal beer from May to September/October, it really fits in with the early summer feeling.  It’s one to mow the lawn with, so you can further pull out the plant smells and tastes that are hiding under all the hops.  I would love to sip this while walking through fresh cut grass, that crisp, tangy smell permeating the last of the early afternoon humidity.

 

*click here for American Pale Ales vs Indian Pale Ales

Leave a Reply

