New Glarus Unplugged Abt

I found out that I’m heading out Sunday afternoon for Colorado, which, suffice to say, is insane. A lot has to happen in a short amount of time, but there is still plenty of time for beer. Frankly, I think I’d be much less happy without it.

In honor of the insanity that is the next few days, I’ve decided to look at New Glarus’ Unplugged Abt. Four times a year, New Glarus releases a unique beer that will never taste like it ever again. They claim, “the bottle you hold is brewed for the adventurous soul.”

Seems fitting. I’m feeling frisky today.

The first thing I noticed was how dark it is. If the lighting isn’t just right, you can’t see your fingers on the other side of the glass. Initially, this was a hard beer to drink, but, like a complex personality, I quickly became friends with it. The first taste is very powerful. Each sip stuns the tongue, and it takes a few seconds for your senses to recover. Once they do, however, you realize how much is going on with the beer.

After the first wave of bitterness, there is a bright, dried-fruit and wine flavor that has a lovely sweetness that lingers playfully. The second sip is no different, but the sweetness is more apparent. However, you have to get past that initial strength to get those happy flavors.

Worth it? I would have to say so, but be adventurous and give it time.

The problem is, I made a mistake. This beer is old, probably brewed up to two months ago. While probably not too big of an issue for some beer, this one was out in a display case, open to harmful rays of light. Due to the nature of the beer, being one of a kind, and this review, being after the general release of the beer, I may not be getting the full taste of the abt, and sadly, I may never get it.

Despite this, if you see it around, pick up a bottle or two and give it a try, if only to say you enjoyed such a unique experience.

Leave a Reply

