Nimbus Red Ale

Where to begin, where to begin…

Well, first off, the Nimbus Red Ale is brewed in Tucson, Arizona and the Nimbus Brewery is the largest brewery based in the state of Arizona, producing six different types of ales.

This was an interesting one, at least compared to my previous beer endeavors, which I have been warning since day one are not that extensive.  Being titled a red ale, I expected nothing short of a red coloration and this Nimbus brew did not disappoint.  Freshly poured into my snifter glass (I’m so pro), it glowed a wondrous copper red/brown and looked thicker than it was.  The head was definitely lacking, barely building before breaking up, and there was no lacing to speak of.  My first shock was the amalgamation of scents emanating from the beer.  It’s an oddly pleasant mixture of malt, sour cherry, yeasty dough, and maybe something citrus…grapefruit perhaps.

Where I was completely assuming that this ale would be thick in my mouth, what with all the different smells, my second shock was due in large part to the fact that the liquid was practically water-like in texture.  Very thin, very watery, yet it still managed to maintain all of the flavors of the malt, cherry, dough, and grapefruit.  The only problem with all of these flavors being thrown together on my tongue, was that each one wanted to overpower the others, rather than compliment it, and I ended up with a horrible sour-fruit aftertaste that lingered for a long while after each sip.  I found that the dryness of the beer helped keep the aftertaste from dissipating.  Also, with very low carbonation, it was just like drinking really strong fermented fruit flavored water.

Now, despite the first half of the bottle being somewhat of a mess, the second half somehow managed to taste a little better.  I’m hoping this is because I was learning to enjoy the multitude of flavors rather than just making myself believe the little bit of alcohol was helping me tolerate it.  Either way, I can’t honestly say that I didn’t enjoy the rest of the drink once I became accustomed to the strong flavors and watery texture.

This ale best represents late fall here in Arizona, when the temperature starts to dip below 80º and the air isn’t quite so dry.  A good cookout with lots of brats and sauerkraut, maybe a little mustard, would be the perfect accompaniment to the overwhelming sour sweetness present in the drink.  Oh, and the artwork on the bottle is quite interesting as well.  I’ll have to try their other ales and see how they all compare.  Supposedly, the ales they make are rivaled only by Europe because they have a purer soft water supply.  I learn something new everyday.

4 thoughts on “Nimbus Red Ale

  1. Pingback: Nimbus Old Monkeyshine « Drink Better Beer

  2. Pingback: Nimbus Oatmeal Stout « Drink Better Beer

  3. Pingback: Nimbus Dirty Güera Blonde Ale « Drink Better Beer

  4. Pingback: Nimbus A-1 Pilsner « Drink Better Beer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,028 other followers

